Skip to content

Up and coming Designers

September 2, 2010

Fashion design Thats right if you did’nt know by now, let me inform you that me and my homeboy, my partner in blogging crime and one of the coolest, well respected, much loved cats around Swaggtalk100 a.k.a Swaggie we’re trying to kick off this designer-thing-ah-ma-gig. We both have greatly different views on fashion currently when it comes to me personally i’ve never been a fashionista as some of you already, but whenever i throw something together the compliments are plenty. Several people past and present will ask me
where did you get that?” or will tell me “girl you have style” Tons of my friends back in the day told me my look was ahead of its time, of course me being as modest as I am did’nt think to much of it back then. 5 years or so (maybe longer) I had the idea for a clothing line where sexy could be combined with classy, something you could wear to work…to a club or even to bed 😉 a fully universal wear for daytime and evening all in one.

Sadly like most idea’s that i conjured up, they dont last long, as i get bored extremely fast so that idea did’nt come to life, so dont give up on you dreams we all have one just keep doing what you feel is right and encourage those around to do whatever it is they want to do. Now when it comes to my homeboy Swaggie he is a male perfectionist and fashion savvy dude, on the same page as me and so far beyond, now we have merged thoughts, bounce idea’s off one another. This encourages us to play off the other ones imagination which is what prompted out tshirt line in the first place. Now in a few weeks or less hopefully we will have more t-shirts coming, im picking on sewing myself which is what explains our current photo gallery. Hit up a fabric store and wanted to show some of the different materials we will be working with from iron on transfers, to silk patterns to skulls & crowns. It all can be a bit overwhelming in the beginning.

Luckiely I know a few people in the industry both designers and models such as Landa Designs , my girls Eeeffy and Lorie Navarra who will give us a heads up on the industry. We’re just starting up with this and have a long way to go, seeing whats what, but we really do plan on taking this somewhere, personally im in it to win it, just have to make sure my homies are too also to get any advice, tips or other from any of you aspiring designers (of any kind) out there. Not all dreams have to be on a superstar level, no matter how big or small make it happen. You never know who can be the next Baby Phat, Chanel, Christian Dior , Guess or Versace. Dont just dream it make it a reality, nothing happens over night, but if your passionate about things THEY WILL HAPPEN, get advice, ask your friends opinions, dont be afraid to do something new.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2010 9:23 am

    Webmissy: the reason u guys have so many supporters backing you thru the site is because you represent people willing to stand up and take a risk & push the boundaries. Being mediocre is for the broke-ass, boring and insignificant. This new transition into fashion sounds exciting, girl you are one dedicated lady to be sewing the clothes yourself! Well when u go global, I’ll be the first to buy a t-shirt in Australia. Looking forward to seeing pics of the designs on the site – E xx

  2. September 10, 2010 12:22 am

    yes shout out to my homegirl/partner webmistress aka Webi. Me and her are coming up with some really nice and original stuff for everyone…..and again we thank eveyone who’s been rydin with us from day 1, and everyone else that shows us love.

    all you fashionistas out there….if you got plans and ideas…make them happen….cause me and Webi gonna take this thing to the top.

    • September 10, 2010 12:34 am

      Anytime partner/bestfriend …we’re as team and as long as we perform as one (together) things will play out the way they were meant to
      we seem to have some great supporters of our posts, ideas and vision without you or them none of this would be possible..especially because of you swaggie your the brains behind it all.

      a wise man once told me about the “power of the internet” he could’nt have been anymore right

  3. Tam permalink
    September 9, 2010 3:41 pm

    Swaggtalk100 is very much a reliable & straight up source for info, interviews, updates and shopping. Coming to your blog, reading articles, browsing sites as well as shopping online has been a delightful experience.

  4. Fplfstr1 permalink
    September 9, 2010 8:46 am

    C’mon yall still aint put ya boy on deck wit the Swaggteam, whats good & next for you guys Banners, Business Cards, Custom Designed clothing, more Tshirts??

  5. September 6, 2010 11:29 am

    I think your fashion ideas sound great. I’m not an expert or anything but I do know ladies who would love your idea about outfits that can be worn for professional or casual occassions. I’ll send the link to your blog to them.

  6. Kaoki Shiki permalink
    September 5, 2010 1:21 pm

    Really cool pictures! ^^

  7. September 3, 2010 12:12 pm

    @ Suzanne
    when I was working late on weekends there just was’nt time enough to get home, dressed for a club or party. God knows not a mall is open at 11pm or 12am…so i was thinking what if there was a clothing line that you could do both with?

    @ Novi
    Totally agree with you there, it is fun when you at least has a general idea where you are headed of course having the right ellements helps too.

    @ Traye
    Glad we can inspire you, as we’re inspired not by each other, but whats all around us as well. No matter what if a person is wanting to do this then go for it, if it starts off wrong or bombs at least your tried. Just dont give up on a dream regardless how difficult it seems.

    • Suzanne permalink
      September 9, 2010 2:38 pm

      Sounds like a great line to me. I’ve worn clothes to work knowing I can’t change to go out later on.

      I think all this talk about fashion and shopping spree (but not as good as a great conversation, haha!) makes me want to do a post on what I think of fashion.

  8. September 3, 2010 1:20 am

    I like where yall are going right now. Im looking into designs myself right now and that can be a problem but as long as youre dedicated to the cause you’ll be ok. But keep doing what u doing cuz your inspiring people coming out like myself.

  9. Novi permalink
    September 3, 2010 1:18 am

    Girl you sure know how to create a post also might I mention that the gallery which is included totally rocks. Designing can be fun when given the proper tools to work with.

  10. Suzanne permalink
    September 2, 2010 8:26 pm

    I’m not a fashionista either, nor do I keep up with the current fashion. I buy what I like and have my own fashion sense. But I don’t just wear jeans and tshirts, I do like dressing up and love my heels. If I had the money, I would definitely go on a major shopping spree.

    I like the idea about sexy, classy wear that can be worn for work and for play.

Leave a Reply

