Skip to content

ThrowBack Tuesdays: BoomBox a.k.a Ghetto Blaster

August 10, 2010

photo courtesy of Natako

Yes its another Tuesday and we have to always give you a blast from the past this time its not a throwback video like the previous one, figured lets go back to the old school especially after my music interview and a few songs I wrote myself. So here’s the scoop this time around we have been having some issues with our stats, of course me being the mini nerd i am had to look into and decided to combine a throwback post with current events and urban gossip…Hopefully this will get us back on top of things of course we need your participation as well readers and commentors.

BoomBox aka Ghetto Blasters was the thing to have back in the day, true tool for a serious music lover, tunes, beats, lyrics and rap songs just didn’t sound right if it did’nt drown out anything else around you. The louder it was the cooler you were, we all remember Radio Raheem who toted his Ghetto blaster in the movie Do the right thing, he was a towering young black man who always carried around a huge boom box blasting only Public Enemy’s “Fight the Power” well this noisy radio got that fella killed in the movie.

There are real life situations where fight have broken out at 1am, 2am, 3am and 4am way back when for blasting tunes, it got ugly in most inner city neighborhoods especially if you blasted something nobody like do if you played the same songs to many times…which pissed off alot of folks. Flash forward to this day in age lets start from the late 1990’s to present, the radio is still the king of sounds its been shrunken though many tend to keep their favorite tunes played on the Ipod to be only heard by a solo ear…their own.

The ghetto blaster is still available this day in age heres one from Lasonic which actually is what i want for christmas ;)…hey i’ve been a good girl…i made a list, check all my post twice i’ve even deleted who’s been naughty and let those who are nice post twice. For more details on the Lasonic ghetto blaster reviews or if you like it alot get yourself one buy Lasonic ghetto blaster click here.

I hope my puddin gets me that although he might get a lump of coal for behaviing badly

Search engine blasters: currently are Fantasia Barrino and Kim Karrdashian, Kim is still all over the net because she recently has broke up with Reggie Bush who now has another girfriend who has stolen Kims famous booty pose (smh) well imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. For more info on Kim Karrdashian/Reggie Bush and what their doing now split click here: Is Reggie Bush’s New Girlfriend Latin Singer Mayra Veronica?

Then its off to Fantasia Barrino who has gotten herself in a pickle…dated a married man, who was supposedly using her (peep game ladies) now the wife of the married man is getting read to sue Fanny base on the fact of a law in Carolina that doesn’t allw home wrecking…cool law by the way. For more on the story click
fantasia-is-involved-in-sex-tape-scandal Now she should-be known better and this modern day in time Bonnie & Clyde might just have set up her and no doubt will be sharing the monies.

what do you all think of this post? Hey by the way if your a fellow blogger here on wordpress add us to your Blog surfer to keep up with our posts and add Swaggtalk100 to your Tag surfer

thanks for the love it will be returned

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 9:00 pm

    welcome back BeirutBoy…Flip thanks man for coming thru again…jaune as alway you word things so well…Balladeer thx for checking us out…Bray to funny words on your site and my partner likes your blog lol…he’s a funny dude too…Suzanne added you soon as we seen your blog, keep offering off personality & variety. Tam lets do the time warp again lol

  2. August 19, 2010 7:55 am

    I would kill to have a ghetto blaster @ home!

  3. Tam permalink
    August 16, 2010 6:20 pm

    Swaggtalk100 just keep blasting its way thru cyber space

    …if you had the biggest you were the baddest – total radio fan, the boombox was the best. This post has took me back back in time

  4. Suzanne permalink
    August 15, 2010 5:09 pm

    Its been forever since I’ve had a boombox! I absolutely love my iPod though. I get annoyed with a lot of radio music, but I don’t have to put up with it if I don’t want to, just turn on my iTunes or iPod and I have a hook up for my car too.

    Already got you on my blog surfer and blog roll!

  5. lookitsbray permalink
    August 15, 2010 1:01 pm

    I always made a point to have the biggest ghetto blaster in school.

    True Story

  6. August 14, 2010 11:55 pm

    I really got a kick out of this post! Interesting blog.

  7. August 12, 2010 6:02 pm

    @ Swaggie, you have to pay attention to the links in the posts lol
    there’s a CNET review and they are featured on Ebay.
    That BoomBox is fly right? Hope my boyfriend gets me one for Xmas

    @ Jaune
    Sorry to hear of your distaste of Alicia Keys, Fantasia and Kim Karrdashian these ladies helped us out with our blog greatly so i’ll always show them some love here.


    F.Y.I
    Kim is known for her Famous Father who is none other than
    Robert George Kardashian a Armenian-American attorney best known as one of the attorneys for, and friends of, O.J. Simpson.

    • August 14, 2010 3:27 pm

      Oh, I appreciate that you are being honest and you stand before the ones that gave you support. I respect your affiliation with them.

      I actually love Alicia Keys, I’m just disappointed that she is now making the headlines for something other than her music. I guess I have to respect her private life if I still believe in her talent. As for Kim, I don’t know anything about her, nor the good, nor the bad. You’re the first that actually explained to me who she is.

      At last, I heard Fantasia tried to commit suicide! I hope she is doing better and that her label will give her a break before pushing her album. She will need some energy especially if she has to stand before the court to tell her side of the story.

  8. August 12, 2010 2:36 pm

    Lawd help me…..OMG i dont have too much to say, but i want one of those…that color is just fine!
    webi…ima be callin you for some info on this boombox.
    woooooooow, what a throwback! i gotta check and see if i still have a pair of adidas.

  9. Fplfstr1 permalink
    August 10, 2010 9:35 am

    Fantasia, Fantasia, Fantasia smh that girl had a lot of good things happening, why did she just throw it all way like that? Back off Kim K thats my future baby mama main pls tell me why is there so many Karrdashian haters on the blogs??

  10. August 10, 2010 9:07 am

    I really wasn’t expecing Fantasi to be like that. I hope Alicia And her ugly beau move to Carolina. Who care about Kim Kar”%*%(?. (sp?) I don’t even know what she is known for. Next?…

Leave a Reply

