Skip to content

Whatever happened to Jon B?

March 7, 2010


photo courtesy of weblo

Bet some of you had forgotten all about him huh? long before there was Robin Thicke and Justin Timberlake there was a cool & relax guy that had a soulful tune, with lots of rhythm & blues mixed in to sweep the women off their feet not to mention make all the other cats in town a bit jealous.

Jon B kept it clean & refreshing no sexually suggestive lyrics, just soulful music that made you want to call your boo up, cook him a hot meal, whisper something nice (or naughty) in his ear over candlelight and give him something he could feel later on if you know what I mean *wink* he was in a league of his owe for sure back then.

In most recent years we have had a surge of “vanilla brothas” popping up on the R & B and hop hop scene (not that there’s anything wrong with that) perhaps you al like diversity as much as me, yes the world is a universal place that has plenty of room for us all, music should be no exception. Jon B was discovered in 1992 After which he had went on to write songs for the likes of 7, Toni Braxton, Michael Jackson, Color Me Badd and others which is pretty cool if you ask me. Released his first album in 1995 which was titled Bonafide, was released by Yab Yum/Sony 550/Epic Records.

Now lets flash forward just a bit to 1997, when Jon’s second album drops, Cool Relax, was brought out. The album contained three of Jon’s best hits to date, after which His third album, Pleasures U Like was released in 2001, with the sole single being “Don’t Talk” this album went gold however do to poor promotion and album sells he was eager to leave Epic after its release (could you blame him?) nope neither can I.

A fire in his home caused the destruction of his recording studio. In 2002, his marriage ended. These events caused Jon to take time off to regroup, later signing with Sanctuary Urban Records.

With all that who wouldn’t need a damn break, but he got back on track or at least tried to In 2004, his fourth album, Stronger Everyday, was released. Just as the same with Pleasures U Like, it was well-received critically by many, but received less than sub-standard promotion. He then left Sanctuary Urban in late 2005.

So far he has dont a total of 5 albums and supposedly working on his 7th, but wait how can you have a 7th album without a 6th one!?!? he’s lost me with tha or maybe the 6th one got shelved and nobody got to hear it or by this time so many other people have hopped on the spot nobody noticed.

Never the less to me he was the vanilla version of R Kelly, he made great music that was cool to listen to, put something on your mind and was good all the way around and we could stand to see a bit more of him in the future. It was jus a few years ago, but he has’nt been seen much lately. The industry spits them out as fast as they can make these music babies…so lets wish him luck on any future albums.

now lets hear it from the masses, can you drop us your opinion?

.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. TEIARA MASSEY permalink
    October 10, 2013 12:21 am

    That was a great article. …loved every bit of it! U answered all of my questions. Thank u Happy Thursday!

    • May 9, 2014 3:19 pm

      Anytime, glad i could help and thank you for stopping by.

  2. aracely permalink
    August 25, 2013 5:41 am

    Ohh I love his music he’s so awesome I love listening to he’s music and he’s so handsome..omg I wish he would still sing…papasito ;)

  3. July 2, 2013 10:25 pm

    Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for novice blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate
    it.

  4. February 26, 2013 11:52 am

    I’m very pleased to uncover this site. I want to to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every little bit of it and i also have you saved to fav to check out new things on your site.

  5. December 14, 2012 2:21 am

    I leave a comment when I especially enjoy a post on a site or if I have something to add to the conversation.
    Usually it is caused by the passion displayed in the post I looked at.
    And on this post Whatever happened to Jon B?
    Swaggtalk100.net is under swaggtruction. I was moved enough to drop
    a comment :-) I actually do have some questions for you if
    it’s okay. Is it only me or do some of the comments appear like they are written by brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are writing on other places, I would like to follow you. Could you list all of all your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  6. Fenix permalink
    March 9, 2012 11:28 am

    Man Pleasures you like was baaaddddddd cd! I still gets play in my house and the car..

  7. Apple permalink
    February 29, 2012 8:15 am

    I think about Jon B a lot(like an ex I can’t get over),lol. I make sure that I got his music around…. on CD’s,iPod,laptop and my cell(ringtone). He is the sexist white man I have ever seen till this day. I never knew he had so many CD’s, that’s upsetting to find out I been missing his music and all along I could’ve been listening to him. I wll be looking for those albums now,lol. I will remain his fan. Much love to you Jon B

  8. Miss Q permalink
    October 9, 2011 9:35 pm

    He is sexy and I miss his music. I remember listening to his music when I was young kid and I wanted him to be my husband…lol Jon B. if you ever in Houston, TX hit me up Miss Q. I still enjoy his music.

  9. stephanie smith permalink
    August 20, 2011 2:57 am

    Never forgot about this guy! Used to listen to many of his songs on ”repeat” over the years. I’. 30 years old and they still do the trick for me. Saw him at The Key Club in Hollywood last year and it was friggin awesome!!! I’ve even even seen him a few times at the grocery store in the area I live, but would never have the nerve to say “hello”. Jon B. is very talented! Go on nowwww!!! ;)

  10. Tonya permalink
    July 5, 2011 11:10 am

    I LOVE THIS MAN, PLEASE DO ANOTHER ALBUM!!

    • Gena! permalink
      October 27, 2011 9:29 pm

      I Love & Will Always Love JON B.! One Of THe Sexiest R&B Singers This Side Of Heaven! I Will NEVER Forget This Handsome Man With The Golden Pipes! Muah!

  11. Kat permalink
    April 8, 2011 7:39 pm

    Jon B is simply smooth! There is one particular dance cut that just makes us move and glide “Don’t Talk”…always will be the JAM! Its grown folks music!!

  12. detroitsunshine permalink
    September 9, 2010 3:25 pm

    I just saw a Jon B video on Video Soul which caused me to look up “what happened to Jon B.” Well Jon B we need some real music now days!! Please get busy and get back in the studio-QUICK!! You have plenty to write about – share with us your thoughts- pleasures n pain!! Can’t wait-

  13. August 6, 2010 4:38 pm

    IM ONLY 19 BEEN LISTENIN TO HIM SINE I WUZ 5 IT GREAT MUZIC

  14. March 15, 2010 7:38 pm

    we need to remove that first pic of him, looks like a mugshot, I hope its not actually one

    hmmm j/k

  15. Rowanna permalink
    March 14, 2010 11:12 am

    Men and Women equally liked Jon B’s smooth flow

  16. Novi permalink
    March 9, 2010 8:55 am

    He was a cutie pie!! what a flash back, his hits still get played sometimes.

  17. Fplfstr1 permalink
    March 8, 2010 7:01 pm

    man was just looking at ole boy on a poster wondering what this dude been up to, thats whats up here’s an article on here about this dude.

  18. March 8, 2010 9:24 am

    lol well I do try, thats what swaggtalk100 and blogging should be all about “creativity”, “variety” and digging “deep” to put something out there that everybody is familiar with, likes and has input on. Wait till you get a load of a few new idea’s I came up with. Spent the entire weekend brain storming and you’ll be impressed swaggtalk100 ;)

  19. March 8, 2010 9:15 am

    wow…i didnt know people remembered John B like that. “you’re myyyyy angeeeeeel” ohhh, i bet yall wish yall could hear me sing that!lol
    nah but John B was the man to me..i knew a whole lot of women that was feelin him!
    and i didnt know he had so many albums…..wow partner….you dug in the crates with this one.lol

  20. March 8, 2010 8:38 am

    LOL not a problem at all because i myself recently a few weeks ago was replying to comments and forgot that i`de logged into Webmasters account (boys are so helpless at times) to check a few things for him and add stuff to his tag surfer….etc

    we all share the same p/w so i`m thinking I logged out of his account and back into my account…nope!…lol I replied to a few peoples that was responding to me webmistress it was a hoot!

    Jon B was a bit luke warm, the fact he did it his way is great, That messes up music when any artist goes there and we the fans can definately tell when they are just doing something because they think its the “in thing” to do.

    If your going to be an overly sexed, romantic musician it has to go with you, that was’nt Jon B’s style and he knew that, he did his own thing which is why we still remember him.

  21. March 8, 2010 8:17 am

    Sorry Webmistress.

    I forgot I was logged into my father’s account. He saw that I started a blog and he wanted me to help him start his own for some marketing product he’s selling.

    Can you please delete that post.

    So, embarrassing…..

    I’ll just repost my message:

    This article made me laugh made me laugh because I remember singing “They don’t know” on the school but in elementary school. I haven’t had a crush on John be since I was 1o-11, but my guess is he married some groupie looking to get her name in the head lights. Now that I think about it, his music was pretty G-rated.

    Kinda reminds me of Robin T. like you said. When Robin began his career he was pretty much a nerd (nothing wrong with that. I’m one myself, lol) and that’s what I liked about him. He wasn’t trying to be debonair. But if you hear his new album, which I can’t say I like, he’s trying to be some kind of romance-sex god or something when it’s not even his personality.

    I hate to hear when people hit upon hard times, but truthfully I grew out of my cute soul singer phase in middle school so in all probability I won’t be buying his album. Not to be harsh, who buys albums nowadays anyway?

    The only full “album” or mp3 album I’ll buy is from the Black Keys. I’m a blues-rock girl all the way.

  22. March 7, 2010 7:49 pm

    I was trying to find another pic of him because the first one looks reminiscent of a “mug shot” but failed on that search, looks like Jon B never wanted to be caught smiling. I’ve yet to see anything other than that deep, dark stare that enchants us + adds to his sex appeal.

  23. March 7, 2010 12:06 pm

    I only have 1 cd: cool relax. but it was enough for me to fall in love with his music ♥
    Oh, have you heard a spanish version of the song “Tu amor” (that I wrote in my last comment)? It’s sung by RBD, from that mexican soap opera Rebelde, you know? LOL

  24. March 7, 2010 9:20 am

    You have the right words…thanks for the love and welcome back we had wondered what happened to you. Jon B is loved by me as well, had his first two CD’s i`ll have to get the rest because not many of those songs I heard.

  25. March 7, 2010 7:54 am

    I don’t know much about him, but I can say I love that song … “Mi amor, I’m not sure of the right words t0 say….” ♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,285 other followers

